

# CULTURE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TASK FORCE MINUTES

Monday, February 7, 2022, 1:30 p.m. Meeting Held Electronically

**PRESENT** 

Councillor Mary Trentadue

Chair

Councillor Chinu Das

Councillor Jaimie McEvoy

**STAFF** 

Serena Trachta Acting Director, Climate Action, Planning and

Development

Jen Arbo Economic Development Coordinator
Carolyn Armanini Planner, Economic Development

Todd Ayotte Manager, Community Arts and Theatre
Gordon Duggan Director and Curator, New Media Gallery

Blair Fryer Manager, Communications and Economic

Development

Sarah Joyce Director / Curator, New Media Gallery

Vali Marling General Manager, Anvil Centre

Robert McCullough Manager, Museums and Heritage Services

Lynn Roxburgh Acting Supervisor, Land Use Planning and Climate

Action

Patrick Shannon Manager, Purchasing

Lisa Spitale Chief Administrative Officer

Denise Tambellini Intergovernmental and Community Relations

Manager

Katie Stobbart Committee Clerk

## 1. CALL TO ORDER AND LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Councillor Trentadue opened the meeting at 1:32 p.m. and recognized with respect that New Westminster is on the unceded and unsurrendered land of the Halkomelem speaking peoples. She acknowledged that colonialism has made

invisible their histories and connections to the land. She recognized that, as a City, we are learning and building relationships with the people whose lands we are on.

## 2. CHANGES TO THE AGENDA

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Culture and Economic Development Task Force Agenda be adopted as circulated.

Carried.

All members present voted in favour of the motion.

## 3. ADOPTION OF MINUTES FROM PREVIOUS MEETINGS

#### 3.1 Minutes of the January 17, 2022 Meeting

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the minutes of the Culture and Economic Development Task Force meeting held on January 17, 2022 be adopted.

Carried.

All members present voted in favour of the motion.

## 4. REPORTS AND PRESENTATIONS

#### 4.1 2022 CEDTF Workplan

Blair Fryer, Manager, Communications and Economic Development, provided a presentation entitled "Culture and Economic Development Task Force: 2022 Workplan – Proposed."

In response to questions from the Task Force, Mr. Fryer; Gordon Duggan, Director and Curator, New Media Gallery; and Sarah Joyce, Director/Curator, New Media Gallery, advised the following:

- An update on patio licensing will be brought before Council before summer;
- Options regarding derelict buildings in the downtown area will be brought before Council in the spring;
- The timeline to implement item 9 should be no longer than a few months;
   and
- The term "democratically" in item 10 is intended to mean that all arts should be treated equally in terms of access.

The Task Force provided the following comments on the presentation:

- Regarding the analysis that will be done on item 5, would like to see context of past reviews and context of who actually benefits included in the analysis;
- The assessment work being done on item 5 is a province-wide endeavour, which looks at hidden cost drivers, and in particular bringing an equity lens to this work;
- In terms of promoting artists, writers in particular struggle with opportunities to promote their work in New Westminster;
- Clarified the distinction between civic arts and arts that take place in the city; and
- In terms of timelines, would like to see mindfulness about a new group of councillors coming into office in the fall, particularly in regards to items 4 and 10.

## 5. <u>UNFINISHED BUSINESS FROM PREVIOUS MEETINGS</u>

There were no items.

## 6. STANDING REPORTS AND UPDATES

## 6.1 New Media Gallery Update

Sarah Joyce, Director / Curator, New Media Gallery, invited the Task Force to the exhibition *Eyewitness*.

## 7. NEW BUSINESS

There were no items.

## 8. END OF MEETING

On MOTION, the meeting ended at 2:11 p.m.

# 9. UPCOMING MEETINGS

Remaining scheduled meetings, which take place at 9:30 a.m. unless otherwise noted:

- March 11
- April 4 at 1:30 p.m.
- May 13
- June 20
- July 11 at 1:00 p.m.
- November 21 at 1:30 p.m.

Certified Correct,

Councillor Mary Trentadue
Chair

Katie Stobbart Committee Clerk