

A vibrant, compassionate, sustainable city that includes everyone.

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Friday, October 21, 2022 Council Chamber City Hall

PRESENT:

Mayor Jonathan Cote
Councillor Chinu Das
Councillor Patrick Johnstone
Councillor Jaimie McEvoy
Councillor Nadine Nakagawa*
Councillor Chuck Puchmayr
Councillor Mary Trentadue

STAFF PRESENT:

Ms. Lisa Spitale Chief Administrative Officer

Ms. Nicole Ludwig Acting City Clerk

Ms. Emilie Adin Director of Climate Action, Planning and Development

Ms. Eva Yip Acting Director of Human Resources
Mr. Dean Gibson Director of Parks and Recreation
Ms. Lisa Leblanc Director of Engineering Services

Ms. Harji Varn Chief Financial Officer and Director of Finance

Mr. Erin Williams Acting Fire Chief, New Westminster Fire and Rescue Services

1. CALL TO ORDER AND LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Mayor Cote opened the meeting at 3:00 p.m.

2. BYLAW FOR ADOPTION

2.1 Permissive Property Tax Exemption Bylaw No. 8366, 2022

Certain Properties within New Westminster such as places of worship, hospitals, and those with charitable/ philanthropic uses are eligible for an

^{*}Denotes electronic attendance.

exemption from property taxes. This bylaw lists the properties exempted in 2023. This bylaw is on the agenda for **ADOPTION**.

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Permissive Property Tax Exemption Bylaw No. 8366, 2022, be adopted.

Carried.

All members present voted in favour of the motion.

3. END OF THE MEETIN	3.	END	OF	THE	MEET	ING
----------------------	----	-----	----	-----	------	-----

	The meeting ended at 3:01 p.m.
Jacque Killawee	Patrick Johnstone
CITY CLERK	MAYOR